Follow Us!
Select Language:

What is TESOL?

TESOL - Certificate of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages

TESOL is an internationally valid certificate / diploma program that allows you to teach English anywhere in the world. It is the most recognized and demanded document in the field of International ESL (English as a Second Language).

The Certificate of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL) is specially designed for those who want to teach English as a second language or foreign language.

A-A. Program Duration: 180 Hours

  •  80 -100 hours (according to the number of participants in the group) classroom lectures and presentations
  •  80 hours observation, teaching practice, lesson preparation, article writing and feedback.
  •  It consists of 4 four modules and requires to submit 8 academic articles in total, two from each module.
  •  In order to qualify for the diploma, these 8 articles must be checked by LTTC officials and evaluated by using A-B-C grading system.

B-The Competencies of Prospective Teachers after completing the program;

  • Understands how language is acquired,
  • Understands causes of language errors,
  • Knows which principles modern language teaching is based on,
  • Understands what phonetics and phonology mean,
  • Knows what methods to use for teaching English,
  • Knows how to use materials and supporting elements in classroom for teaching English,
  • Knows how to organize the class,
  • Knows how to design lesson plans.

C-Qualifications for Participation In The Program;

  •  Prospective teachers must have a bachelor's degree or equivalent. However, the most important criterion is to have good oral and written skills in English.
  •  In national or international exams, the scores determined by Ministry of Education (MEB) must be obtained. (TOEFL: min 85/120, IELTS: 6.5 / 9, YDS 75 + face-to-face speaking test)
  •  Candidates whose English proficiency has been proved by the exams mentioned above get a chance to participate in the program if they succeed in the oral interview with coordinators authorized by LTTC.


After completing the program, prospective teachers are entitled to receive the 7th Level Diploma of TESOL. This diploma has been approved by TQUK which is an OFQUAL approved certification institution at a learning level equivalent to level 7.

What is TQUK?: TQUK is an awarding organization recognized by The Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (OFQUAL) and the Government of Wales. TQUK offers competencies in the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF).

E-What is the difference between Certificate programs and Diploma programs?

  • The contents of the level 3, level 5 and level 6 certificate programs are ideal for those who want a quick qualification such as basic skills they will use in classroom. It includes the core curriculum of the diploma, but subjects are handled with much less intensity and can be completed in a few days.
  • TESOL Diploma (Level 7) programs are much more academic and cover the broad curriculum. It means a higher qualification and usually provides job opportunities with higher salaries in better working conditions.
We use cookies on our website to support technical features that enhance the user experience. For detailed information click here.